Welcome To The Mill On The Fleet

The Mill on the Fleet was built in 1788 as a cotton spinning mill and restored as a visitor and exhibition centre by Dumfries and Galloway Council in the 1980s. It is also houses the Gatehouse Tourist Information Centre.

The Main Exhibition Floor

The main exhibition floor houses displays focusing on the history and heritage of Gatehouse, and exploring the Fleet Valley and surrounding areas.  The Fleet Valley is a designated National Scenic Area – one of three in this part of Scotland.  The displays introduce the valley and provide orientation and resources to help visitors explore the area.

The temporary exhibition galleries, have a programme of exhibitions running throughout the season.

Regional Arts and Crafts

Also on the top floor is a pop-up shop run by twenty regional artists and makers working in a range of disciplines – ceramics, textiles, prints, paintings and more. 

More information on the group is available on their website: papop-up.co.uk

The Bookshop

The Mill Bookshop is on the second floor.  Come and enjoy searching through our 20,000 plus books on a wide range of subjects.  

The Bookshop is run to support the Mill through a mix of volunteers and paid staff.  We are constantly adding new books to stock and are always happy to receive books needing a new home to add to the collection.

The Bookshop is open during the season the same hours as the rest of the building.  It can be available by appointment out of season.  The Bookshop is best contacted at any time of the year by mobile on 07808 171337 or 07761 460049, or by email: books@millonthefleet.co.uk 

The Café

The Mill Café provides provides a tearoom service of delicious cakes, scones and coffees and teas all day. Enjoy the river and its varied wildlife from the open air terrace.