The Mill on the Fleet was built in 1788 as a cotton spinning mill and restored as a visitor and exhibition centre by Dumfries and Galloway Council in the 1980s. It is also houses the Gatehouse Tourist Information Centre.
The Main Exhibition Floor
The main exhibition floor houses displays focusing on the history and heritage of Gatehouse, and exploring the Fleet Valley and surrounding areas. The Fleet Valley is a designated National Scenic Area - one of three in this part of Scotland. The displays introduce the valley and provide orientation and resources to help visitors explore the area.
The temporary exhibition galleries, have a programme of exhibitions running throughout the season.
The Mill Café provides delicious cakes, scones and coffes and teas all day. Enjoy the river and its varied wildlife from the open air terrace. Due to Covid-19 we have restricted the menu and are currently not doing meals.
The Mill Bookshop is on the second floor. Come and enjoy searching through our 20,000 plus books on a wide range of subjects.
The Bookshop is run to support the Mill through a mix of volunteers and paid staff. We are constantly adding new books to stock and are always happy to receive books needing a new home to add to the collection.
Regional Arts and Crafts
Also on the top floor is a pop-up shop run by twenty regional artists and makers working in a range of disciplines - ceramics, textiles, prints, paintings and more.
More information on the group is available on their website: papop-up.co.uk
Gatehouse of Fleet is well signposted off the A75 Dumfries to Stranraer road. The Mill is situated in the centre of the town and is signposted from the main car park. There is disabled parking within the grounds of the Mill.
Open Daily 10.00-4.00 until 31 October.
The Mill on the Fleet,
High Street, Gatehouse of Fleet, Castle Douglas DG7 2HS
Tel: 01557 814099